Is Whiskey Gluten-Free? (Excerpt)

Mark Willingham Uncategorized

Is Whiskey Gluten-Free? (Excerpt)

Source: https://www.healthline.com/

January 15, 2020

Whiskey, which is named after the Irish-language phrase for “water of life,” is a popular alcoholic beverage enjoyed around the world.

There are many varieties of whiskey, including bourbon and Scotch, and the drink can be made from a variety of grains and grain combinations, with corn, barley, rye, and wheat being the most common.

The process of making whiskey includes distilling a fermented grain mash and aging the resulting alcohol in oak barrels. Despite many types being made from gluten-containing grains, the beverage is often thought to be gluten-free due to the distillation process (1).

Essentially, distillation is when the fermented mash is heated into a vapor and then condensed back into a liquid. During this process, alcohol is separated from the fermented grain mixture. As gluten doesn’t evaporate, it’s left behind with the solids (2Trusted Source, 3Trusted Source).

However, there are still some concerns over whether the beverage is truly gluten-free.

This article discusses whether all whiskey is gluten-free.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/are-whiskeys-gluten-free